Owl Afghan

IMG_5240
The owl afghan without the border

Here is the link to the instructions to the owl afghan from Lionbrand yarns.  It is a pattern from Sarah Zimmerman from  Repeat Crafter Me.  The only thing that was different, was the yarn I used and I changed to the border a little bit.  They used Vanna’s Choice yarn, but I wanted to try different colors.  My crochet hook was a size H-5 mm.  It might seem like the Bernat Satin is too different from the Caron Simply Soft yarn to work together, but they do!  I love the softness of both yarns and their colors.

This is a link to a tutorial video on how to crochet corner to corner

 

For the background yarn I used Bernat Satin Linen.

The wings and the outline of the eyes: Bernat Satin Fern

The body of the owl: Bernat Satin Soft Fern

The stomach of the owl: Caron Simply Soft off  white

The eyes of the owl: Caron Simply Soft white and Caron Simply Soft black

For the beak of the owl and feet: Bernat Satin Rouge

This is the graph included in the Lions Brand site:

Ideas for other color combinations:

For a girl: Just change the body of the owl to Bernat Satin Sea Shell and Flamingo

IMG_5237

I will post pictures and instructions of the border I made a little later.

Leave a comment